Khaled Hasan wins 2011 Dart Center Ochberg Fellowship

Subscribe to ShahidulNews


Ten journalists from around the world have been awarded the 2011 Dart?Center Ochberg Fellowship.
 The 2011 Dart Center Ochberg Fellows will come from around the world to attend a week-long s ...

The 2011 Dart Center Ochberg Fellows will come from around the world to attend a week-long seminar to improve coverage of traumatic events.

The Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma at Columbia University?s Graduate School of Journalism announces the recipients of the 2011?Dart Center Ochberg Fellowships for coverage of violence and trauma.
The Ochberg Fellowships were established in 1999 by the Dart Center for journalists seeking to deepen their reporting of traumatic events. Fellowships are awarded to outstanding mid-career journalists in all media who have dedicated much of their work to covering violence, conflict and tragedy, including street crime, family violence, natural disasters, war and genocide.
The week-long Ochberg Fellowship offers journalists a unique opportunity to learn about the many dimensions of psychological trauma and to forge relationships with colleagues who share their interests. Fellows attend seminars with leading experts in trauma science and journalism practice, and participate in the annual conference of the International Society for Traumatic Stress Studies.
The 2011 Dart Center Ochberg Fellows are (detailed biographies are below):

  • Elizabeth Aguilera, San Diego Union-Tribune, San Diego, California
  • Natasha Gardner, 5280 Magazine, Denver, Colorado
  • Aaron Glantz, The Bay Citizen, San Francisco, California
  • Khaled Hasan, Independent Photojournalist, Bangladesh
  • Kateryna Ivanova, Rivne Investigative Reporting Agency, Ukraine
  • Kathie Klarreich, Independent Journalist, Haiti
  • Beth Macy, The Roanoke Times, Roanoke, Virginia
  • Joe Raedle, Getty Images, Miami, Florida
  • Dan Shortridge, The News Journal, New Castle, Delaware
  • Marcela Turati, Revista Proceso, Mexico